Mosaic in Northern Indiana

Home » A Calling » Remembering Arthur Phebus

Remembering Arthur Phebus

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

It has been a sad time at Mosaic lately as we have experienced loss in these past two weeks. One man, Arthur Phebus was a part of Mosaic in Northern Indiana almost as long as the agency has served in Michiana. Some of the staff at Mosaic shared their memories of the lively, spirited man.

Art at day program

Art at day program

“Arthur could always tell when a light bulb had burned out even though he was blind. He would yell it out to us every time!” -Amber Roundtree

“I always loved how Arthur wanted to have control of his environment. On one drive to the doctor he had me turn on and off the radio every 30 seconds.” -Sheri Hipschind.

“As far as Arthur goes he was a lovable, crotchety old man. Whenever he wanted something, he would holler.  Everyone was NURSE! His favorite things were his hats, glasses, books, pictures and his flashlight. He loved to listen to the show Gunsmoke and he loved parties and lunch. He was one of the founding members of Mosaic moving in to Benham Avenue. He could swear with the best of them! He was a joy to have around and always left me laughing.” – Anne Marie Negri-Budzinski

Arthur always had everyone laughing.

Arthur always had everyone laughing.

“Arthur was legally blind, but he had enough vision to see if lights had been turned off or on. We had this thing where I would count to 3 and Arthur would act like he was blowing the lights out and I would flip the switch off or on at the same moment. He would always crack up.

He also liked to come into my office and switch my lamp off and on. He would joke that the light had burned out and tell me to take it outside.

When I met Arthur, he had a Mr. Potato Head that had a pull string that when pulled would say things like, “Hey you kids, get off my lawn!”. He called it Dog.

Arthur loved old timey shows – particularly Gun Smoke. I have heard the intro to Gun Smoke so many times it is burned into my memory!

Arthur could be a VERY grumpy old man, but he was also sweet and loving. He loved to take your hand and kiss it when he was in a good mood. It always warmed my heart when he would lean his head against me and sigh.

At Arthur’s old day program, he would often become bored and act out. Due to that, he was only able to attend half days. When we started our day program in 2009, Arthur began attending full days and experienced many things he had never done before – including riding a horse for the first time!” – Josh Hensley

“I called him the life of the party. He always had something to say. He made people laugh. You could be having a bad day and he would make you laugh. Never a dull moment. I think of the grumpy old men movie with a little Blues Brothers thrown in. I’ve been with him since my first day. He was pretty amazing; everyone loved him- you couldn’t help but love him.” -Sara Halterman

Always the life of the party

Always the life of the party

A “Phebus” Celebration of Life :
When; June 10th
Time: 11am
Where: First Brethren Church
South Bend, IN
There will be a light lunch provided by the Church following the service and balloon release.
He will be buried at a later date to be determined.
The obituary will run  June 8th in the Elkhart Truth.
Arthur

Arthur

2 Comments

  1. Jess z says:

    I was there when he came to us he would hide his stuff under his pillow so no one would take it. I am sure he would be a good fisherman he was so with it then

    Like

  2. nicole aters says:

    I come to the garden alone,
    While the dew is still on the roses,
    And the voice I hear, falling on my ear,
    The Son of God discloses.
    And He walks with me, and He talks with me,
    And He tells me I am His own,
    And the joy we share as we tarry there,
    None other has ever known.

    He speaks, and the sound of His voice,
    Is so sweet the birds hush their singing,
    And the melody that He gave to me,
    Within my heart is ringing.
    And He walks with me, and He talks with me,
    And He tells me I am His own,
    And the joy we share as we tarry there,
    None other has ever known.

    I’d stay in the garden with Him,
    Tho’ the night around me be falling,
    But He bids me go, thro’ the voice of woe,
    His voice to me is calling.
    And He walks with me, and He talks with me,
    And He tells me I am His own,
    And the joy we share as we tarry there,
    None other has ever known.

    Like

Leave a Reply

