Mosaic in Northern Indiana

Home » A Calling » Tameka Pittman: What it takes to be a caregiver

Tameka Pittman: What it takes to be a caregiver

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Tameka Pittman has been with Mosaic for more than 9 years

Tameka Pittman has been with Mosaic for more than 9 years

Tameka Pittman has been part of Mosaic in Northern Indiana since 2006. Over the past 9 years she has performed many roles within the agency. Tameka first started in Middlebury when Mosaic was affiliated with Goldenrod. Since then she worked one-on-one with an individual who was sick. Tameka spent two years with him before he passed. After Tommy was gone, it was difficult for her.

“I thought if he had more attention, it would be good. I realized he communicated in all kinds of ways, he understood me- we grew a bond”- Tameka Pittman

“I was going to the house to pass out meds and that was really hard for me. I didn’t even want to go to the house but I realized that was selfish of me. I didn’t want him to suffer but I didn’t want to let him go,” she said.

Tameka has been with Mosaic’s Meaningful Days day program ever since.

“I like that I’m able to be a person who makes sure all of their needs are met. God gave me the opportunity to take care of people. I want to give people opportunities. They can do more than people think they can,” she said.

Tameka explains how she has grown while working at Mosaic.

“When I was first visiting Tommy, I was afraid because I didn’t think I could do this. Then I ended up working with him. He was blind and deaf and I didn’t know he could still communicate. It was limited in the beginning so I watched him. I thought if he had more attention, it would be good. I realized he communicated in all kinds of ways, he understood me- we grew a bond,” she said.

Mosaic’s mission is alive in Tameka- her job is a calling to serve and care for others. She explains the parts of her position that give her joy.

“As long as I was a little girl I wanted to take care of people. It makes me feel good”- Tameka Pittman

“I enjoy making them laugh and happy, I joke with them. They have a sense of humor. I love what I do- making sure they are happy, clean, fed and appropriately dressed. As long as I was a little girl, I wanted to take care of people. It makes me feel good,” Tameka said.

During Mosaic’s Meaningful Days program, Tameka takes the people we serve to volunteer at Habitat for Humanity, Meals on Wheels, bowling, to the movies, parks, cook-outs, the chocolate factory and 4-H fair.

“I’ve never been happy doing anything else. I would do this for free if I could,” she said.

Leave a Reply

